Tags

, , , , , ,

This week, a contingent of plucky individuals from my lab have been presenting at the Royal Society’s Summer Science Exhibition. Sadly I couldn’t make it as I was on the one holiday I take each year! Now that I’m back, I thought it would be worth discussing their exhibit, and encouraging anyone who hasn’t been yet to go!

The exhibit covers details of the work we’ve been doing for years on airport security screening (first publication was back in 2004). You can see an introduction into the research in the video below. Apparently they are working on upping the sound a bit.

Our experiments are still alive and kicking, and we’ll be doing more work on it for (at least) the next 4-5 years – so watch this space! Aside from the practical benefits that this type of research has on offer, it’s turned out to be a very significant and useful source of inspiration for developing current models and theories of how humans search their environments for targets of various types. I wrote some more detailed stuff on my website here a while back. 

More information is available at the Royal Society’s website: click here. By the way, the X-ray picture of a bag that they have used has nothing naughty in it. You can also play some online games developed for the exhibition here and here.

Publications that are relevant to this can be found listed here and here.

Finally, I’d like to dedicate this post to the computer used to do the eye tracking in that video above. It died on us a few days after the video was recorded. RIP.

